MCG Criteria

The following are the MCG BRCA testing criteria developed through a 3 year prospective study, which will be published soon. These cancer based criteria are simpler and more effective than family history criteria.

The MCG criteria have a 10% BRCA mutation detection rate, which is the level at which testing is recommended in most countries.

MCG BRCA testing eligibility criteria

Individual with any of the following:

    1. Ovarian cancer
    2. Breast cancer ≤45 years
    3. Two primary breast cancers, both ≤60 years
    4. Triple-negative breast cancer
    5. Male breast cancer

Detailed information about how we use these criteria in our centre, together with all our implementation resources is available here.